Built in 1898, The Tower Arts Centre was originally a Water Tower serving Winchester until, in 1955, the Reservoir proved inadequate for the City’s needs and became surplus to requirements. In 1964, the unique, octagonal shaped Tower was bought by Hampshire County Council for use as a place for rehearsing and performing Theatre under the control of the Department for Education.
The Centre was eventually opened in 1969 as a Drama Centre with toilets, workshop space, coffee bar, changing rooms and a two-tiered gallery area.
In April 2008, the Tower became part of Kings’ School and is now home to Blue Apple Theatre, dance, drama, exercise classes as well as being the hub of the school’s Drama department.
Tel: 01962 861161